Book Reviews · The Reading

Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

Title: Ice Like Fireice-like-fire
Author: Sara Raasch
Published: October 13th, 2015 by Balzer + Bray

Goodreads Icon Medium  |  Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Summary:

It’s been three months since the Winterians were freed and Spring’s king, Angra, disappeared—thanks largely to the help of Cordell.

Meira just wants her people to be safe. When Cordellan debt forces the Winterians to dig their mines for payment, they unearth something powerful and possibly dangerous: Primoria’s lost chasm of magic. Theron sees this find as an opportunity—with this much magic, the world can finally stand against threats like Angra. But Meira fears the danger the chasm poses—the last time the world had access to so much magic, it spawned the Decay. So when the king of Cordell orders the two on a mission across the kingdoms of Primoria to discover the chasm’s secrets, Meira plans to use the trip to garner support to keep the chasm shut and Winter safe—even if it means clashing with Theron. But can she do so without endangering the people she loves?

Mather just wants to be free. The horrors inflicted on the Winterians hang fresh and raw in Januari—leaving Winter vulnerable to Cordell’s growing oppression. When Meira leaves to search for allies, he decides to take Winter’s security into his own hands. Can he rebuild his broken kingdom and protect them from new threats?

As the web of power and deception weaves tighter, Theron fights for magic, Mather fights for freedom—and Meira starts to wonder if she should be fighting not just for Winter, but for the world.

The Review:

This review may contain spoilers from the first book, Snow Like Ashes. You have been warned!

After finishing Ice Like Fire, I found myself feeling the way I did after I read Glass Sword. I didn’t like Glass Sword, and as much as I don’t want to say it, I’m disappointed in Ice Like Fire. The difference is, I don’t mind not liking Glass Sword because I didn’t really like Red Queen either (not as much as other people do), but I really liked Snow Like Ashes and I was really looking forward to Ice Like Fire.

I’ve mentioned before that I love the setting. Primoria, with its 8 different kingdoms is very intriguing. I love the way that each kingdom has its own defining characteristics, the way the people looked, the way they dress, their interests and many other things. In Ice Like Fire, we get to travel to the other kingdoms that were only briefly mentioned in Snow Like Ashes. Summer, Yakim, and Ventralli are so different from each other as well as the other kingdoms and it’s very interesting to read about. But at the same time, it could get confusing. There’s so much information to remember that sometimes it can be difficult to keep track of which king/queen is from where, what capital is in which kingdom and things like that. It’s great that there’s a map, it’s very useful.

Ever since Allegiant, I’m very suspicious of multiple POVs that start in sequels. I will always expect either someone is going to die, and the only way the story can go on is through the other character’s POV, OR something reaaaally bad is going to happen. Either way, it can’t be good. And the fact that the second POV is Mather’s makes things predictable. I can already see where this is going. I understand that the author wants to tell readers about what’s happening in Winter while Meira is off traveling the world, but I can’t help but think that there has to be a more interesting character than Mather to tell it. Sir, maybe?

Another thing I liked about Snow Like Ashes is the characters, specifically Meira and Theron. Meira was so badass in Snow Like Ashes and I feel like she’s not really Meira anymore in this book. I get that she’s Queen Meira now, and she has so much weight on her shoulders, so maybe the difference in her character is justifiable. But at the same time, I can’t help but feel that something is off. Theron and Mather’s characters felt different, too, like they’re not the same Theron and Mather from Snow Like Ashes. And I don’t like that.

One of the biggest problems I had with this book is the fact that almost nothing happened. I have to say that I was so bored reading the first two-thirds of the book. I can’t even say half because I don’t think anything interesting really happened until almost the end of the book. And by the time something actually happened, it was too little too late. I was already bored and even though the ending was interesting, I couldn’t make myself care anymore. Everything is way too easy for the characters, there is no challenge at all and I don’t find it believable. I actually slammed my head against the wall sofa and rolled my eyes so many times.

I told my friend that Ice Like Fire could be split into 5 parts. One part should be combined with the first book, one part with the last book, and the other 3 parts should just go away. I’m sorry if I sound mean, but I’m just so sad. I feel like Snow Like Ashes could be great as a standalone, maybe some things could be added to answer the unanswered questions, but otherwise, it could be a standalone. I’m still going to read Frost Like Night eventually, but I have a feeling I already know what’s going to happen.

“What defines us is not our ability to never let them break us-what defines us is not letting them own us.”
Sara Raasch, Ice Like Fire

2 Stars

Signature - Glamor Style


For below this line is a rant that’s full of spoilers (read in Melisandre’s voice). Proceed with caution.

Okay. Why is Sara Raasch doing this to me? Theron is a good person! I knew something was going to happen to him.

I knew something was going to happen to him. The whole time I was reading Ice Like Fire, I felt like Theron’s character is so different and not Theron at all. From what I understand, the Decay is supposed to exaggerate the person’s strongest beliefs and those beliefs will become who they are. I have a hard time believing Theron could be so evil so easily because he’s a GOOD person. It’s like Sara is trying to make me not like him. Sorry, it didn’t work! And Mather gets  POV? Okay, so Theron becomes evil and Mather gets a POV? I see what’s going on here.

And Mather gets  POV? Okay, so Theron becomes evil and Mather gets a POV? I see what’s going on here. Mather’s POV was boring, okay? He didn’t really do much of anything in Snow Like Ashes and even though I kinda knew he had feelings for Meira I just don’t buy the whole “undying love” thing. He’s so whiny is this book, “You didn’t talk to me for months, you just spend all your time with Theron so I’m gonna get out of your life, Meira, I’m done”. Well, guess what? So am I! It’s like the author is trying so hard to make me feel sorry for Mather and switch ships but guess what? That’s not working either!

Theron and Meira are good together, okay?!? If you wanted Meira and Mather to end up together then maybe you shouldn’t have made Theron so awesome! I just cannot okay? Bye.

 

6 thoughts on “Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.