The Reading · Top 5 Wednesdays

Top 5 Wednesday: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

Hello, everyone!ย Welcome to another Top 5 Wednesday post ๐Ÿ™‚

TTop 5 Wednesday Iconop 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) on Goodreads, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. Every Wednesday, book lovers will share their list of Top 5 books/characters/, etc. depending on the topic of the week through their book blogs, Instagram, Tumblr, etc. This weekโ€™s topic is โ€˜Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season’

I’ve read a lot of books over the past few years, but I actually don’t remember most of them. So for this list, I’ll only be using book series and TV series that I read/watched this year ๐Ÿ™‚

Splintered by A.G. Howard

I read this series earlier this year, in February, I think. I liked it, I thought it was okay. But I remember thinking that the sequel is not as good as the first book. You can read the review here.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I liked Red Queen. Even though I thought it was predictable, I still found it entertaining and the story was interesting. Then, I read Glass Sword. That was when it all went downhill. I didn’t like Glass Sword, and because of that, I probably won’t be reading the third book. Here are the links to my reviews of Red Queenย and Glass Sword.

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

I feel so sad about this one. I liked Snow Like Ashes a lot and I was so disappointed in Ice Like Fire. I know that Frost Like Night is better, but the whole series was ruined for me. Sorry………. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Once Upon a Time

once-upon-a-time

Sigh. I used to love this series. But lately, I feel like it’s just not what it used to be anymore. I find myself getting bored watching OUaT, especially the latest season. Sure, it has its moments, but overall, I feel like they’re recycling the same thing over and over again.

The Vampire Diaries

the-vampire-diaries

One thing I can say about this series, it’s addicting. You just can’t stop watching. But just like OUaT, I think this show’s been dragged on for too long. Even when I watch it now, it’s just for background noise while I’m doing something else. Sorry, fans ๐Ÿ˜ฆ


So that’s all for this week’s Top 5 Wednesday. ย What series do you think got worse with each book/season? Tell me in the comments! ๐Ÿ˜€

Signature - Glamor Style

18 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

  1. I actually really liked Glass Sword so looks like I’m in the minority. I think I read both books back to back though so it kind of felt like a continuation of the same story.

    I’ve read the first two books in Splintered but haven’t read the third yet and not sure if I ever will. It felt like very little happened in the second book until towards the end and then it left you with a big cliffhanger which I’m assuming was a ploy to get you to buy the third book. Maybe if it comes into the library…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually thought that the story was interesting, but it was the characters in Glass Sword that made me dislike it. But I might borrow it from the library, we’ll see ๐Ÿ˜€

      Yeah, nothing really happened in Unhinged… The third one wasn’t really that amazing either, so you’re not missing much ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG I so agree about OUAT!!! I watched it up to season 4 and then just couldn’t do it. It was the same thing over and over again – losing their memories, going to a new world, the constant battle between good vs evil. It got so annoying ๐Ÿ™„

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Don’t get me wrong I am thoroughly obsessed with the show, I have the funko dolls, and go to the convention…. but the quality has went down. The characters are amazing but they are given shitty story lines. After the whole Frozen garbage in S4 I no longer watch it religiously like I used to, I binge watch it on hulu here and there but its just gotten bad.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I have no idea what happened to them haha… Makes me sad, though, I used to LOVE Once Upon a Time ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      And yeah, I learned my lesson with Glass Sword. I most likely won’t be reading the next one ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

