So Many Books, So Little Time · The Reading

It’s Not Me, It’s You: Book Series I Won’t Continue to Read

Hello, everyone!

A while ago, I posted a list of 5 book series I have yet to finish and there are actually many more of them! When I looked at the very long list of unfinished series, I realize that there is no way I’m going to continue reading ALL of them. So here is a list of book series that I haven’t finished and (probably) never will.

Fallen

Fallen by Lauren Kate

What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours?

17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart. 

Get ready to fall . . .

Published December 8th 2009 by Delacorte Press

I read this book a long, long time ago, and I remember not liking it. I actually didn’t even remember what it was even about until a friend of mine asked me to watch the movie with her. After watching the movie, I remembered why I didn’t like it and I never plan on continuing this series.


The Immortal Rules

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden Series) by Julie Kagawa

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a walled-in city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten. Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them—the vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself dies and becomes one of the monsters.

Forced to flee her city, Allie must pass for human as she joins a ragged group of pilgrims seeking a legend—a place that might have a cure for the disease that killed off most of civilization and created the rabids, the bloodthirsty creatures who threaten human and vampire alike. And soon Allie will have to decide what and who is worth dying for again.

Published March 26th 2013 by Harlequin Teen

Like Fallen, it’s been a while since I read this book and I hardly remember what happened. And I think I’ve already lost interest in this series so I most likely will not be continuing it.


10507293

The Selection by Kiera Cass

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Published April 24th 2012 by HarperTeen

I know a lot of people love this series, but I’m not one of them. I have the first 3 books in the series because I can never resist the temptation of a pretty cover, but I never made it past book one and I don’t think I ever will. It just wasn’t for me 😦


The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey The 5th Wave

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors? To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Published May 7th 2013 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

…I’m sorry. I know many, many people love this series, but I just couldn’t do it 😦 The story was interesting enough, but for some reason, I just didn’t enjoy it as much as other people seem to.


 22328546Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard 

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

Published February 10th 2015 by HarperTeen

People have told me that the third book is way better than the first two, but after Glass Sword, I’ve just lost interest in this series.


So that’s it! These are 5 book series that I don’t see myself reading in the future. I don’t really think I’ll regret it, though. There are waaay too many other books I’d rather read.

See any books you’ve read or plan to read on this list? Any book series you never plan to continue? Tell me in the comments! 😀

Signature - Glamor Style

18 thoughts on “It’s Not Me, It’s You: Book Series I Won’t Continue to Read

  1. Ugh. Fallen by Lauren Kate. Just Ugh! I agree with that one. Twilight series is on my list. I never read past Twilight and never will. The Fever series too by Karen Marie Moning. And then there’s also the Study series by Maria V. Snyder. I haven’t read past Fire Study cause there was a huge gap of time between one book and the other and I can’t bring myself to ever finish it cause 1) the cover changes upset me and 2) I thought it ended satisfyingly enough that she didn’t need to continue it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I regret reading Twilight! I only ever read it because my friends made me. Peer pressure sucks 😛
      I haven’t read the last 3 books in the Study series, either. I liked the way it ended, but I might still read the next one in the future. And yeah, cover changes are usually upsetting 😦
      Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww sad to hear you feel that way about the selection. I read up to book 4 and I just cant pick up the 5th book even though I have the whole series.

    Also For Red queen, I know how you feel. I am still looking for the motivation to read book 3. I pick it up every other week with the intention to read it but never make it. I get distracted by Shiner book covers around me.

    I have never read 5th Wave but i might give it a try.

    I have the final book in the Hal Bad series that I just cant bring myself to read but I will get there one day.
    The series these day’s are too many, what ever happened to one off YA stories???

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah… I really wanted to love The Selection, but it just wasn’t for me I guess…
      I actually liked Red Queen, but I was disappointed with Glass Sword and I don’t see myself reading the third one anytime soon 😦
      I hope you’ll like The 5th Wave if you do read it!
      Exactly! There are way too many series nowadays. It’s so difficult to find a standalone YA novel!
      Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I read the first two books in The Selection series because I won them in a giveaway, and I thought they were just awful. I wanted a fun, kind of fluffy read, and I got an unintelligent protagonist (who is undeservedly constantly praised for her cleverness by other characters!) and a book that just made no sense. I passed on writing a review for book 2 because it would have just ended up as a bullet point list of “things that completely lack logic in this book.” I’m increasingly reading books lately that make no sense, and it’s a huge flaw for me. I can’t believe so much of this stuff gets past editors and readers. Oftentimes I’m the only person on Goodreads who seems to think the book has no logic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes!!! Glad I’m not the only one who feels that way!
      I totally agree. So many books have made me scratch my head because they don’t make sense or I just find things confusing 😦
      Thank you for the comment! 🙂

      Like

  4. I haven’t read Fallen or The 5th Wave (despite owning both) so I can’t really comment but it’s probably a good call on the Selection. I’ve read all five books and you’re not missing anything especially in book 2 (it’s just book 1 with less girls in the competition)

    I did like Red Queen but books 2 and 3 have been slower and longer so I can kind of get why you can’t be bothered. Personally book 2 was my fave so far but I get the feeling I’m the odd one out on that front.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really don’t recommend reading Fallen, and the movie really isn’t good, either… But a lot of people love The 5th Wave so maybe you could still give it a try?
      I’m glad you like Glass Sword! It just wasn’t for me, I guess… But who knows? Maybe I might continue reading this series one day 🙂

      Like

  5. I understand why you chose these books! I read the Selection series when I was 15 years old. At that age, I was such a hopeless romantic. It feels kind of awkward thinking back, haha. I remember really enjoying the series back then. I’m sure I would have a totally different opinion on them if I read them today. I really liked Red Queen, but I haven’t managed to finish the second book. One day maybe… Have a beautiful day! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I have many books I read when I was younger that I feel differently about now… So I can relate 🙂
      I like Red Queen, too! But Glass Sword let me down and now I don’t think I’m going to spend my time with the rest of the series. I hope you enjoy it, though!
      Hope you have a great day as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. haha love your title for this post so much!! I actually only watched the movie for Fallen, cos weirdly enough my sister read the series and ended up describing it all to me- so I didn’t feel the need to read it lol. I’ve seen fifth wave and immortal rules everywhere, but never felt like reading them. good call on selection! I wasn’t gonna continue with the red queen series either- cos of all the lacklustre reviews for book 2 I didn’t continue- but recently there have been so many positive reviews for book 3 that I finally caved and bought the second one (I am so weak lol!!) Awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you like it! Haha, I’m usually the one describing everything to my sisters 😀 Did you like the movie?
      You’re not really missing out on anything… I didn’t really like The 5th Wave and The Immortal Rules was just meh. But who knows? Others seem to like it, so maybe that’s just me…
      Lol, I totally get it! I’ve been told that the third book is way better, but I don’t want to risk it so I’ve been closing my eyes when I see King’s Cage in bookstores to avoid temptation 😀
      Thank you!!

      Like

  7. The Selection series are my favorite series (well, the first three are good). Maybe you should give it another chance someday. I read 5th Wave in February this year and I did not like it and I don’t think I want to finish the series anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I quit after Red Queen, glad I wasn’t the only one who didn’t love this series like everyone else!

    I don’t think you’re missing much from not finishing The 5th Wave, I quite enjoyed the first book but the series kinda goes downhill after that in my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

