Book Reviews · Favorite Books · The Reading

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

the-dream-thievesTitle: The Dream Thieves
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Published: September 17th, 2013 by Scholastic Press

Goodreads Icon Medium  |  Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Summary:

If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys – a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface – changing everything in its wake.

Of THE RAVEN BOYS, ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY wrote, “Maggie Stiefvater’s can’t-put-it-down paranormal adventure will leave you clamoring for book two.” Now the second book is here, with the same wild imagination, dark romance, and heart-stopping twists that only Maggie Stiefvater can conjure.

The Review:

This review may contain minor spoilers.

I love this book, okay? I totally understand the hype and I love this series!!

The Dream Thieves continues the story of Blue Sargent and the Raven Boys, Gansey, Adam, Ronan, and Noah on their quest to find the Welsh King, Glendower. But where The Raven Boys focuses more on that main plot and also Blue’s POV, we see more of Ronan in The Dream Thieves.

I’ve said before that the best thing about The Raven Boys is the characters and I’ll say it again. Each and every character in the series is so real, with unique traits that make them different from everyone else and they’re flawed in ways that will make your heart break. It’s not often that I read a book and say “wow, I love ALL the characters in this book”, but The Dream Thieves made me say it. Of course, there were moments where I got annoyed and wished that I could shake them, but that’s what makes them more realistic and interesting, no?

I definitely like Ronan more in this book, maybe because I got to know more about him and his ‘secrets’. He’s a complex character and we get to see so much more of Ronan underneath his tough exterior. I can understand why so many people love him! Gansey is still Gansey, as always and I love the way that he cares so much for his friends. Being as privileged as he is, he doesn’t always understand what it’s like for other people, which becomes something that he and Adam argue over all the time. And Adam always make me sad, because his upbringing made him this person that can never accept help from others. I feel like Adam doesn’t understand that it’s okay to accept help, especially from his friends, but he’s so headstrong about making his own way and having control over his own life. Noah doesn’t have much screentime in The Dream Thieves, but when he does, he’s very lovable. I love his interactions with Blue and I wish we got to see more of him.

Blue and her family remain one of my favorite families ever. I love these women and I would visit 300 Fox Way and stay with them for a month if I could. Blue had an eye-opening realization about herself, Maura got involved in an interesting relationship that I’m still unsure about, Calla is still her usual sassy self and Persephone is as weird as always. I love the dynamics between Blue and her family. They annoy each other and get in each other’s way but they get along so well.

The Dream Thieves introduced us to some new characters like the Gray Man, Kavinsky, and Matthew, Ronan’s brother whom I don’t think made an appearance in the first book. While I like the Gray Man as a character, I have very mixed feelings about him. He’s certainly an intriguing character and he seems to be very good at what he does but at the same time, I don’t know… it’s kinda hard to put into words? Kavinsky shouldn’t be a likable character, but I can’t help but like him anyway. I feel like there has to be more to him than what we see, something made him the way he is and I really want to know more about him. Yes, he is annoying and pretty much an ass the whole time, but I feel sorry for him.

Maggie Stiefvater’s writing style is so compelling and magical that sometimes I find myself thinking if this could be reality. The world in The Dream Thieves is so eerie and dark and at times creepy and scary, and it kept me at the edge of my seat speculating about what could possibly happen next.The relationships between the characters are so amazing and the way Maggie Stiefvater wrote it, they’re heartbreaking. I got emotional so many times while reading the book and I loved every moment. One moment in particular is a scene where Maura entered Blue’s room and sees Blue crying. Moments later, Maura started crying and they repeated the same conversation and for some reason, it made me very sad and teary eyed.

…. Maura asked, “Are you crying?”

“Only a little.”

“Why?”

“Generalized sadness.”

“Are you sad? Did something bad happen?”

“Not yet.”

“Ah, Blue.” Her mother wrapped her arms around her and breathed into the hair at the base of Blue’s neck.

-Maggie Stiefvater, The Dream Thieves pg 382

Like the first book, The Dream Thieves is not fast paced. In fact, it’s pretty slow up until the last few chapters where most of the action happened. But also like The Raven Boys, there’s nothing boring about it and just as unputdownable. At first, I thought that the plot diverged from the initial “find Glendower”, but after a while, I could see how Ronan’s storyline and his dream abilities connect with Cabeswater and Glendower. The Dream Thieves did get a little confusing at times, and I had to read certain things twice to fully understand it, but everything sorted themselves out in the end.

The Dream Thieves is a magical read, filled with mystery and enchantment, creepy monsters that may or may not keep you up at night and the most amazing friends you could ask for. Maggie Stiefvater is definitely a master storyteller and I look forward to reading more of her books.

“Reality’s what other people dream for you.”
Maggie Stiefvater, The Dream Thieves

4 Stars

Signature - Glamor Style

4 thoughts on “The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

    1. Thank you! I’m so glad I started reading The Raven Cycle! It’s probably going to be one of my favorite series 🙂
      Yeah, Ronan is very interesting. I’m looking forward to seeing more of him in the next book 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

