Discussions · Movies · The Random Things

Get the Popcorn Ready! 10 Movies I Want to See in 2017

Hello, everyone!

So I found out that today (January 19th) is Popcorn Day! At least according to this calendar. And the first thing that comes to mind when someone says ‘popcorn’ is movies. Yes? No? Maybe? Of course it’s a yes. Popcorn is a universal movie snack, after all. Or am I the only on who thinks that? Funny thing, though, I don’t actually like popcorn. I can eat it if someone offers me some, but I don’t eat popcorn when I watch movies. Or any other time, in fact.

Aaaanyway, back to the point, because it’s popcorn day I decided to make a list of movies that I want to watch in 2017. Cuz who doesn’t like lists? 😉

There are SO many movies being released worldwide each year and it’s definitely impossible to watch all of them. I guess it’s the same with books, but who says we can’t TRY? Since I’m not really a ‘movie person’, I managed to narrow it down. So in no particular order, here are my top 10 movie picks to see this year.

*clicking on the movie poster will take you to the IMDb page.

get-the-popcorn-ready

Beauty and the Beast (March)

beauty-and-the-beastDisney’s animated classic takes on a new form, with a widened mythology and an all-star cast. A young prince, imprisoned in the form of a beast, can be freed only by true love. What may be his only opportunity arrives when he meets Belle, the only human girl to ever visit the castle since it was enchanted.

Obviously, Beauty and the Beast would be on this list because it’s my favorite Disney movie ever! I am a bit worried about how the live action movie will turn out but I’m keeping my hopes up!

 

A Monster Calls (January)

The monster does not come walking often. This time it a-monster-callscomes to Connor, and it asks for the one thing Connor cannot bring himself to do. Tell the truth. This is a very touching story about a boy who feels very damaged, guilty and mostly angry. He struggles at school with bullies, and pity looks from everyone, and at home with his mother’s sickness. Will Connor overcome his problems? Will everything be okay? Will Connor be able to speak the truth?

 A Monster Calls is already out in cinemas since early January, but I haven’t had the chance to see it. Hopefully I will go soon!

The Zookeeper’s Wife (March)

the-zookepers-wifeThe Zookeeper’s Wife tells the account of keepers of the Warsaw Zoo, Antonina and Jan Zabinski, who helped save hundreds of people and animals during the Nazi invasion.

So this movie is based on a book, that’s based on a true story, AND the trailer looks awesome! I definitely want to watch The Zookeeper’s Wife 😀

 

The Space Between Us (February)

 In this interplanetary adventure, a space shuttle embarks on the first mission to colonize Mars, only to discover after the-space-between-ustakeoff that one of the astronauts is pregnant. Shortly after landing, she dies from complications while giving birth to the first human born on the red planet – never revealing who the father is. Thus begins the extraordinary life of Gardner Elliot – an inquisitive, highly intelligent boy who reaches the age of 16 having only met 14 people in his very unconventional upbringing. While searching for clues about his father, and the home planet he’s never known, Gardner begins an online friendship with a street smart girl in Colorado named Tulsa. When he finally gets a chance to go to Earth, he’s eager to experience all of the wonders he could only read about on Mars – from the most simple to the extraordinary. But once his explorations begin, scientists discover that Gardner’s organs can’t withstand Earth’s atmosphere. Eager to find his father, Gardner escapes the team…

I thought the trailer looked really cute! And I liked Asa Butterfield in his other movies like Hugo, Ender’s Game and when he played young Mordred on Merlin. I wasn’t very impressed with Miss Peregrine, but I’m still looking forward to this one 🙂

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (May)

dead-men-tell-no-tales

Captain Jack Sparrow finds the winds of ill-fortune blowing even more strongly when deadly ghost pirates led by his old nemesis, the terrifying Captain Salazar, escape from the Devil’s Triangle, determined to kill every pirate at sea…including him. Captain Jack’s only hope of survival lies in seeking out the legendary Trident of Poseidon, a powerful artifact that bestows upon its possessor total control over the seas.

Okay, maybe the previous movie (or movies depending on how you feel about At World’s End and Dead Man’s Chest), wasn’t the best. I personally didn’t really like On Stranger Tides, but what can I say? I’m invested in the series! And I love pirate stories so……..

Dunkirk (July)

dunkirk

Miraculous evacuation of Allied soldiers from Belgium, Britain and France, who were cut off and surrounded by the German army from the beaches and harbor of Dunkirk, France, between May 26- June 04, 1940, during Battle of France in World War II.

I guess I like movies like this?

Life (March) 

lifeSix astronauts aboard the space station study a sample collected from Mars that could provide evidence for extraterrestrial life on the Red Planet. The crew determines that the sample contains a large, single-celled organism – the first example of life beyond Earth. But..things aren’t always what they seem. As the crew begins to conduct research, and their methods end up having unintended consequences, the life form proves more intelligent than anyone ever expected.

I’ve always been fascinated with life on other planets and when I was younger I actually wanted to be an astronaut so I could see Earth from outer space. Now I have resigned myself to just reading and watching Sci-fi. But never lose hope! I could still live on Mars! They are going to send people there anyway, so I could be one of them muahaha! 😀

The Great Wall (February)

the-great-wallWhen a mercenary warrior (Matt Damon) is imprisoned within the Great Wall, he discovers the mystery behind one of the greatest wonders of the world. As wave after wave of marauding beasts besiege the massive structure, his quest for fortune turns into a journey toward heroism as he joins a huge army of elite warriors to confront the unimaginable and seemingly unstoppable force.

I’ve heard a few ‘complaints’ about Matt Damon being the main character in a movie set in China. But now I’m actually curious. How does Matt Damon fit in China? Is he the male version of Mulan? I guess we’ll find out in February 🙂

 Kong: Skull Island (March)
A team of explorers and soldiers travel to an uncharted island in the Pacific, unaware that theykong-skull-island are crossing into the domain of monsters, including the mythic Kong. 

I’d like to say that the reason I want to watch Kong: Skull Island is because of its intriguing premise, incredible trailer, and great cast, but let’s be honest. It’s probably because I just like seeing King Kong swat at helicopters like flies 😀 Also, Loki.

 Power Rangers (March)

power-rangesA group of high-school kids, who are infused with unique superpowers, harness their abilities in order to save the world.

I used to watch Power Rangers all the time when I was a kid, but it was the Japanese version. I think it would be nice to revisit my childhood memories 😀

Bonus:

Wonder Woman (June)

wonder-woman

 Before she was Wonder Woman, she was Diana, princess of the Amazons, trained to be an unconquerable warrior. Raised on a sheltered island paradise, when an American pilot crashes on their shores and tells of a massive conflict raging in the outside world, Diana leaves her home, convinced she can stop the threat. Fighting alongside man in a war to end all wars, Diana will discover her full powers and her true destiny.

I’m not a fan of superhero movies, which you’ve probably guessed since I didn’t include any Marvel movies on this list. But when I saw the trailer (they played it before Miss Peregrine’s movie started), I didn’t know that it was Wonder Woman. I thought it was a super cool movie about the Amazons and when I realized what it was, I was really curious 🙂


Okay, so that was my top 10 (+1) anticipated movies of 2017! Any movies that you want to see? What movies do you want to watch that’s not on my list?

Signature - Glamor Style

8 thoughts on “Get the Popcorn Ready! 10 Movies I Want to See in 2017

Leave a Reply

