The Random Things · The Reading

33 Reasons Why I Wish 2016 Would Be Longer But Not Really ;)

Hello, everyone!

It’s the end of 2016 and we all know what that means. Time to make another list! List of new year resolutions, aΒ list of goals, shopping list, or in my case, a list of disappointments. More specifically, a list of books that I have yet to read. That’s disappointing, isn’t it?

I have come to realize that I have a serious book buying problem. I can’t go to a bookstore without buying anything. And since most places have bookstores, you really can’t take me anywhere. I’m serious. If someone wants me to go with them, they have to constantly hold my hand and never let go. Otherwise, I’ll wander off into the nearest store that sells books.

Okay. I think we’re getting off topic. What I’m trying to say is, I buy books faster than I can read them. I know, I know, bookworm problems, right? It’s really funny how when I look at my bookshelf, it doesn’t look like I have too many books, but when I actually take them off the shelf, I realize that I have 33 BOOKS that I haven’t read. And I bought ALL of them this year! So I decided to make a list of books that I bought in 2016 that I have yet to read. This list won’t include books that I received as gifts because I didn’t buy those, so I don’t feel too bad about them πŸ˜€ Also, this list would be waaaay longer if I did.

Here we go.Β Clicking on the title will take you to the Goodreads page.

unread-books-2016

  1. The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
  2. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  3. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir
  4. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  5. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
  6. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
  7. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
  8. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare BlakeΒ (Currently Reading)
  9. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
  10. Rebel Springs by Morgan Rhodes
  11. Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes
  12. Kalahari by Jessica Khoury
  13. Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi
  14. Flamecaster by Cinda Williams Chima
  15. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
  16. After the End by Amy Plum
  17. Until the Beginning by Amy Plum
  18. The Martian by Andy Weir
  19. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  20. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
  21. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
  22. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
  23. Red Rising by Pierce Brown
  24. Golden Son by Pierce Brown
  25. A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria Schwab
  26. Half Bad by Sally Green
  27. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  28. Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  29. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
  30. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  31. Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
  32. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
  33. Animal Farm by George Orwell

Wow, that took longer than I thought! This list doesn’t even include books that I haven’t read from previous years 😦 😦 😦

So whenever I read a book from this list, I’m going to go back and cross it out. I’m hoping that will give me the motivation I need to read moreΒ because I really like crossing things off of lists haha πŸ˜€

Please please tell me I’m not the only one with so many unread books this year! I need to know I’m not alone!!!

Signature - Glamor Style

8 thoughts on “33 Reasons Why I Wish 2016 Would Be Longer But Not Really ;)

  1. haha I’m the same about bookstores- somehow they always seem to find me πŸ˜‰ I don’t even want to look at the number of books I haven’t read- mostly on my kindle! Wow- there’s a lot of fantastic books on here- hope you enjoy them! I really love the falling kingdoms series and Illuminae! And the Martian and Red Rising are amazing!! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always feel sad when I go out of a bookstore empty handed, but there are days when I’m just broke. Haha, my tbr is also so πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ.

    That picture is just so satisfying! I love how the books fitted in the frame/shot. ✨ Great list of books, hope you’ll get to read them all soon. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so true! I also feel really sad if I go out empty handed, but when I’m broke, I’m broke haha

      I’m really happy with how the picture turned out, I had to rearrange it a few times to get them all to fit nicely πŸ˜€
      Thank you so much, and good luck with your TBR too! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. You are definitely not alone. My Goodreads to-read list is just ridiculous. And when I finish a book, instead of picking one of those books, I spiral out and end up finding something new to read that wasn’t on the list. I do have to recommend A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury. Absolutely phenomenal books! I did not think I would be a Sarah J. Maas fan because Throne of Glass was disappointing to me but she blows it out of the mark with these two books! Third one comes out May 2nd f.y.i. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG yes! I do that sometimes, too! πŸ™‚
      Yeah, I’ve seen ACoTaR and ACoMaF everywhere and so many people love it, and I can’t wait to read it. I’m waiting for the third one to come out before I start reading, though. I don’t want to wait too long for the next book haha πŸ™‚
      Thank you for the comment! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well just so you know, SJM originally intended it to be a trilogy but she changed her mind because they were so popular and now it will be six installments! So either way you’ll probably be waiting, haha

        Like

Leave a Reply

