The Random Things · What's New IRL

When Life Gives You 5kg of Mangoes

Hello, everyone!

How have you been? It’s been about 2 weeks since my last post and I finally have some free time to write this one. So as you know, I went on a trip to Langkawi Island, Malaysia on the 13th. I’ve been back for a week now, but I’ve been really busy with this concept dinner project/thingy/I’m not sure what to call it. But basically, my team sort of, kind of volunteered to help the Hotel Management students with their concept dinner, where they have to manage their own restaurant, do the decor and find a kitchen crew.

Be prepared. There will be lots and lots of complaining in this post.

So I thought, “hey, I’m just going to help them cook. It’s no big deal. I can do this”. Wow, how wrong I was. It turns out, I had to design the menu, purchase all the ingredients, go back and forth trying to find unavailable items etc. etc. I worked on this concept dinner for months. I did the research, came up with lots of different dishes to choose from, consulted with my chef, and had meetings at least once a week. And it was SO tiring. Especially since I had other assignments to work on, other projects to do AND, I wasn’t even being graded for this.

The concept my hotel students chose was ‘pirates’. So the restaurant had all sorts of pirate decorations and everything. It actually turned out quite nicely, I have to say I was surprised.

Anyway, there are 4 groups of hotel students who have to do a concept dinner, and my team and I have to plan/prep/cook for all of them. So that means for 4 weeks, I have NO day off at all! Weekends are for prepping and getting all the ingredients ready, and Monday night is the concept dinner.

Monday (24th) was the first concept dinner, and it was mine. The pirates thing. So all of Saturday and Sunday was spent on campus, cutting up tons of onions, carrots, etc. etc. and I always got home late. I actually had to peel and cut 5kg of mangoes and by the time I finished, my fingers were stuck in the curved position. Sad. Then on Monday, even though the dinner was supposed to start at 6.30, some guests thought that it was fashionable to be late! The dinner ended late and I got home super late and I wasΒ too tired to sleep. Sigh. What is life. And the next morning, I had an 8 a.m. lecture that I couldn’t skip.

So this will be my life for the next 3 weeks. I’m just hoping that all the dinners go well.

On the bright side, I think that it’s a wonderful experience —you know, even if it’s super tiring. I’ve never had to cook for so many people before, I don’t have that many family members haha! But yeah, I think my dinner turned out okay. I couldn’t take too many pictures because it was so hectic, but here are some food photos!

img-20161025-wa0003

This is the first course (it’s a five-course meal), grilled prawns on avocado mousse on a cheese cracker. It was actually really nice! I was so scared the whole time that it wouldn’t turn out well, but I think I did okay πŸ™‚

img-20161025-wa0005

This is the palate cleanser, mango and passionfruit mousse with papaya and mint. The round thingy on top is a clear jelly with blueberry in the middle.

img-20161025-wa0001

For dessert, we made soft chocolate cake with coconut ice cream and more fruit jelly balls πŸ˜€

I don’t have photos of the main course and appetizer, like I said, it was super hectic. But for the appetizer, we had prawn bisque, and the main course was a choice between grilled fish with Jamaican curry sauce and barbecued jerk chicken roulade with tomato basil sauce, both served with rice & beans and grilled vegetables.

So that’s all for today! I’ll definitely be posting about my Langkawi trip soon. I have lots of stories from that trip. Goodbye for now! πŸ˜€

Signature - Glamor Style

Leave a Reply

