The Reading · Top 5 Wednesdays

Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took Me Forever to Read

Hello, everyone! Welcome to another Top 5 Wednesday post.

TTop 5 Wednesday Iconop 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) on Goodreads, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. Every Wednesday, book lovers will share their list of Top 5 books/characters/, etc. depending on the topic of the week through their book blogs, Instagram, Tumblr, etc. This week’s topic is ‘Books That Took You the Longest to Finish’.

Okay, so this is going to be one of those posts where I get to feel bad about myself for not finishing these books. But, what can I do?

 

shame-shame-shame
Source

 

Anyway, let’s get on with the list!

The Marshmallow Test

20454074

I know, I know! I’ve been ‘reading’ this book since January. JANUARY! Can you believe it? I’m just really, really bad at reading non-fiction, I guess. Sigh. One day I will finish reading this book. I promise. I just don’t know when that day would be.

The Canterbury Tales

The Canterbury Tales.jpg

I started reading The Canterbury Tales 2 years ago for my English Lit class. I only needed to read a few tales for that class, but I told myself I was gonna read the whole thing. Guess what happened? I didn’t finish reading the book.

Inheritance

7664041

This book is 860 pages long and it’s way taller than my other books! I started reading the first few chapters, and I got distracted by other books with their pretty covers and not so many pages and I just ended up abandoning Inheritance. I’m sorry. I will read it one day!

King Arthur and His Knights of the Round Table

king-arthur

Yeah, no excuse for this one. I read half the book and put it on my bookshelf so I could read another book and I just never picked it up again 😦

1984

1984

It took me a while to read this book. Not because I got bored or anything, but because of assignments and classes and exams. But I did it! I finally finished this book in September. I don’t know if that means 1984 doesn’t belong on this list, but I’m going to include it anyway 🙂

So those are the 5 books that took me the longest to finish! What books took you forever to read?

Signature - Glamor Style

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took Me Forever to Read

    1. Haha, I haven’t reached the halfway point either! Also, the book is called The Marshmallow Test: Mastering Self-Control, and guess what? I have no self-control when it comes to buying more books. And eating cheesecake 😀 😀 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love your header picture for this post. It’s really adorable. Great shot! Are you on Instagram? I was told by a few people to read 1984. I still haven’t read it. 😂 I guess it’s just one of those books, huh? You either love it and dive right in or drag your feet about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you 🙂 🙂 Yeah, I’m on Instagram, @ofreading_and_randomthings.
      It took me a while to get into 1984, but once I got used to it, I really liked it! It’s a good book, you should definitely read it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

