Discussions · Favorite Books · Hype or Like Friday · The Reading

All About Science Fiction

hype-or-like-friday

Hello, internet!

I decided to participate in Hype or Like Friday starting this week (yes, I know it’s not Friday anymore, and I’m already late even though this is my first week participating, but better late than never right? haha). Sometimes it’s just so difficult to think about what I want to post. I’d probably start overthinking and end up not posting anything at all. Also, because of my hectic life, packed with assignments and getting stuck in traffic, my blog has become somewhat neglected. So it’s nice to have some discussion topics provided and I just have to ‘fill in the blanks’, in a way.

So Hype or Like Friday is a Goodreads group hosted by Jill from Rant and Rave About Books, Larkin from Wonderfilled Readsย and Britt from Geronimo Reads. There would be a discussion topic for each Friday of the month that is related to a certain theme, and for this month, September, the theme is ‘Back to School’. There is also a book of the month which will be reviewed on the last Friday. Anyway, this week’s topic is ‘I Love Science: My Favorite Science Fiction Books’:ย This can be anything you want. Science fiction can be anything from time travel to DNA mutations like X-Men. You can go with comic books or novels. Whatever you feel like writing about.

This postย will definitely contain spoilers from Origin by Jessica Khoury, Across the Universe by Beth Revis, Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, and The 100. You have been warned!

I’ve always loved science. My favorite subject in high school (not including English) was Physics, so it shouldn’t be a surprise that I love sci-fi books and movies ๐Ÿ™‚ . I’ve always found it interesting to think about what could happen in the future. Will we finally get to drive flying cars like in the movies? Can humans actually live on Mars? And with each passing year, things like that seem more likely to happen. They’re already planning to send people to Mars in 2033. According to Destination Mars, by the year 2100, ‘more than 1000 former residents of Earth’ will live on Mars. How exciting, right? Too bad I’d probably be dead by then ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

For me, science fiction differs from fantasy/paranormal/etc. because no matter how weird/unrealistic/etc. it is, it could actually happen. Not all of them, of course, but a lot. When we read sci-fi books, we could actually be reading about the future of our 1984technology. I was reading George Orwell’s 1984, and I was surprised by how many similarities I could see between Big Brother’s society and our own society. I don’t think George Orwellย planned to predict the future, but I guess things happened ๐Ÿ™‚ So who knows? Maybe in a few years time, we’ll have a smart-eye like the ones in Under the Never Sky (I’m still hoping haha) ๐Ÿ™‚

Just like other genres, sci-fi usually takes our normal, everyday problems/issues and ‘blow them out of proportions’ (is that the correct term? I’m not sure. Anyway…), and even though I don’t notice it very oftenย while reading the book, I always end up thinking about it afterwards and see the similarities between the book and our real life situations.

One of my favorite books in this genre is Origin by Jessica Khoury. 13455112While I think it’s very unlikely that humans could be immortal, I really love the way Origin makes me question things that I don’t really spend much time thinking about.

When I buy a face mask/facial wash/etc. etc., I don’t usually think about the process of making those products. I don’t actively search for products that sayย “No Animal Testing”, on the packaging. I probably should, but I don’t. Or sometimes I would see products that claim to make you look years younger than you actually are or something similar.

Anyway, Origin explores the science behind the scenes. Yes, the scientists are evil and they do not represent real scientists, but like I said, Sci-fi always stretches our everyday problems to the extreme. Pia, the immortal main character, is considered perfect in every way, and the scientists are trying to create a race of immortal humans, who would look young forever. But in the end, do you reallyย  want to be immortal? I don’t. I think it’s scary to live forever and ever while watching everyone else die one by one. And also, is it even okay to try to achieve immortality? How far would you go in the name of research? What are you willing to sacrifice to reach that goal?

In Across the Universe by Beth Revis,across-the-universeย almost everyone is the same. They’ve been drugged into complacency, to stop any rebellions before they even happen and so their leader could maintain control. I feel like we’re like this, too. Even if it’s just a little bit. But I feel like most of us are content just sitting still and not really doing much of anything about all the horrible things that are going on. Not to mention their leader, Elder/Eldest, are basically the same person. They’ve been cloning the leaders over and over again, so it’s like there’s only one leader the whole time. I think that sound familiar as well, to a certain extent.

Another thing I love about this series is becauseย it shows that change is not something everyone is ready for, and that’s okay. In the series, many people on the spaceship decided to leave and explore the new planet. But some of them chose to stay, and no one forced them to do otherwise. Sometimes I feel like I’m not ready to make the big changes in life, like when I decided to study abroad away from my family. No one forced me to go immediately, so I decided to stay home a few months before leaving, just like how the people on the ship eventually landed on the new planet, because in the end, change is inevitable. And when they got there, it turns out someone else already lived there. But just because someone did something before you, doesn’t mean that they did a better job!

Okay, let’s pause. I’m starting to ramble. I had this same discussion with my friend before and I seem to be trying to include everything in this post.

Next is Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi. I can’t remember the last time 10756656I went out with my friends for lunch/dinner and no one used their phones during the meal. Every time I go out, I see people with their phones in their hands. ALL THE TIME. I can’t say I’m not guilty of the same thing, but I try to not use my phone when I’m with my friends, I try to keep it in my bag and actually have a conversation. People are so dependent on technology I think they might go insane if phones suddenly disappeared from the planet.

People in Reverie are also very dependent on their technology. It’s “Better than real” apparently. The lives of the outsiders and the residents of Reverie are so different and I think it’s similar to our lives and the lives of people who are not fortunate enough to be able to afford all the things we consider necessities (phones, the internet, etc.). While we consider it a tragedy to have no access to the internet, or if there’s a blackout (okay, maybe not all of us, but definitely me), there are people out there who, like Perry and his tribe, struggle to find food, who don’t even need technology because they have other, more important things they need to survive.

Now what kind of list would this be if I didn’t include Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi? I think I include this book in every list I’ve ever made haha… ย 13455782

Isn’t it true that people who are ‘different’ are treated, well, differently? Instead of celebrating what makes us different, we often try so hard to be just like everyone else. Juliette, Kenji and the other residents of Omega Point live underground to hide from the people who want to get rid of them, they have to hide their abilities when they go out in public. I’m not the kind of person who cares about what people think of me, but there are times that I feel like I can’t completely be myself when I’m around people and unleash my full drama-queen potential haha. I guess that’s why I love Shatter Me so much. In the end, Juliette no longer hid what she is, she just owned it and became a better, stronger version of herself.

As a bonus, I’m going to include The 100 on this list. Not the books, but the TV series. It’s one of my favorite TV series at the moment ๐Ÿ˜€the-100-53772df520798ย People change so easily from good to bad depending on the situation and I think The 100 shows this very well.

I can talk all day about why I love The 100 and all my favorite Sci-fi books, but this post is already very long so I guess I’m going to stop. So, yeah… Sci-fi is a very interesting genre and I love analyzing it and comparing it to real life situations. I’m always trying to make my sisters read these books but I haven’t been very successful. They don’t read as much as I doย  I used to.

Anyway, here’s my list of my favorite Sci-fi books, and even though I’m a day late, I’m very happy to participate in Hype or Like Friday. Sorry if what I say doesn’t make sense ๐Ÿ™‚ .What are your favorite Science Fiction books? I’d love to hear what you think about Sci-fi. Tell me in the comments! ๐Ÿ˜€

*P.S: I finally got a new laptop! HAHAHHAHA

Signature - Glamor Style

9 thoughts on “All About Science Fiction

  1. Welcome to Hype or Like Friday! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s always Friday if you cheat with your calendar, haha.
    1984 scared the hell out of me because of how close we have come to the society Orwell describes. The feeling we could end up living this shook me. You are forced to take a painful look at how we’re living. Orwell’s writing is brilliant and I’ve loved rereading it.
    Origin sounds very very good!
    Great choices!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m excited to participate ๐Ÿ™‚
      1984 scared me too… I had to stop reading several times and think about what I just read. And I love Origin! Some people don’t like it as much because it contains scenes of animal cruelty, but if you can get past that it’s a very good read.
      Thanks for commenting ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome to the group! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you like what we have planned for the next few months. There will be a lot of themed topics each month. I read The 100 and just bought the other two in the series. I can’t believe I forgot to add this series to my post. Oops! It completely slipped my mind. Glad to see it on here. I also bought Shatter Me and still need to read it. Awesome recs! I hardly ever see anyone talk about science fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m happy to be a part of the group ๐Ÿ™‚
      The topic suggestions for next month sound very very interesting and I can’t wait to do it!
      I hope you enjoy The 100! Shatter Me is one of my favorite books ever so I hope you like it, too ๐Ÿ™‚ Sci-fi is a great genre and more I think more people should read it ๐Ÿ˜€
      Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll look out for your posts. You can add the links each week under the Goodreads thread for the month if you want to share it with others in the group. I wasn’t thrilled about the first book in The 100 because the ending felt very abrupt, but I’m hoping the overall series will be a rave for me. I’m glad you agree. I think science fiction is an underrated genre that enough bloggers don’t talk about. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks, I’ll definitely link my posts in the group ๐Ÿ™‚
        I wasn’t very happy with the book either. I actually prefer the TV series, but maybe that’s just me? The book series and the TV series are very different though ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. The 100 show is much better than the books. I agree! I also like Clarke and Bellamy much better in the show than book. I think the show took the basic book concepts and made something so beyond the book that I’m impressed how good it turned out. Adapted as is in the book, the show wouldn’t have been anywhere near as good.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Exactly! I’m glad you think so, too. I love all the characters in the show. They’re all very interesting and very real to me. The story is so much more complex as well and I can’t wait for the next season ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

