The Random Things · The Reading

September, the Month I Decide to Read Less

Hello, everyone! It’s been a while…

At the beginning of 2016, like the beginning of the previous years, I made a list of resolutions. I didn’t include many things on this year’s list because I wanted to make sure that I could actually do it. I told myself, “this year, I’m going to create more art”, “I’m going to start writing again” and of course, “I’m going to read more books”.

But… See, there’s always a but.

But the thing is, no matter how much we plan, no matter how detailed the ideas, things have a way of doing the complete opposite. My brother calls it the ‘universal law’. He says that whenever we plan to do something, and the happier/more excited we are to do those things, the universe will do something to ruin it. What can I say? He’s a pessimist. The thing is, sometimes the ‘universal law’ is exactly what happens!

So much has happened in the last 8 months, and I haven’t done even half of the things on my resolutions list, I haven’t been blogging as much as I wanted to and I definitely haven’t been reading as much as I hoped I would. Honestly, I’d love to put the blame on university/classes. “If they didn’t give me so many assignments/projects/etc and if I didn’t volunteer to do so many things, I’d have more time to do the things that I want to do!” But I can’t say that.

As a student, I should be able to manage my time more efficiently. Too bad that’s easier said than done. I wish there are more hours in a day and I wish it didn’t take me such a long time to complete my assignment, but they do say ‘if wishes were horses, beggars would ride’ right?

Anyway, I was very busy in August and I. Did. Not. Read. A. Single. Book. I sincerely hope that the remaining months of 2016 won’t be so hectic, but like I said before, ‘if wishes were horses’. Sigh. Every time I log in to my Goodreads account, I see that little widget on the left-hand side that says ‘5 books behind schedule’, ‘6 books behind schedule’, and most recently, ’10 books behind schedule’. It makes me so upset! Especially because I challenged myself to read 50 books this year. That’s about 1 book each week! Sounds doable, right? WRONG!

I don’t think I’ll be able to catch up and complete my reading challenge by the end of the year. Just looking at the challenge widget makes me feel very disheartened because I haven’t even reached the 50% mark, and it makes my reading slump even worse! So, I have decided to change my Goodreads Reading Challenge to only 35 books. I know, I know, ’35 books? That’s not a lot of books at all!’ But I would rather read fewer books than not read at all. And with the amount of work that I have to do for classes and other projects that I’m involved in, I think that 35 books should be doable. In the end, reading is a hobby, not a chore, and my education is more important.

So, yeah. I decided to read less. Wow, those are words I never thought I’d say, but there it is…

Anyway, here is a picture of all the books I bought in August. Hey, just because I didn’t read any books doesn’t mean I can’t buy more! 😀

PSX_20160831_144928

Signature - Glamor Style

 

 

6 thoughts on “September, the Month I Decide to Read Less

  1. Aw hun! I understand what you’re going through. College/University routine doesn’t leave much time for us to finish our reading. But don’t stress about it. It’s good that u reduced your Goodreads list. It’s easier to do smaller number and then it motivates you to go ahead and read more so that’s a plus. I hope you have leisure time in upcoming months and fulfill your wishes. 💌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I don’t feel so overwhelmed now that I’ve reduced the Goodreads challenge… Reading ‘_ books behind schedule’ over and over again really stressed me out haha 😀 . I’ve been trying to complete my assignments as fast as I can so I can read more on my midterm break
      Thanks again for the nice comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s totally fine to lower your reading challenge! I also have 35 books on my challenge, but it’s really personal preference and we shouldn’t force hobbies. I hope you enjoy reading more now that it is less stressful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. University starts soon for me and I already have started studying again, which means my reading time has dwindled to five minutes whenever I can spare! Same goes for blogging. I hope you get more reading time soon! I had set my Goodreads challenge low so that I was sure to reach it and relieve some pressure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

