Discussions · The Reading

The Book Pyramid. The Bookamid??

Hello, everyone!

Lately, I’ve been thinking about pyramids. Not the ones in Egypt, but the food pyramid. I was going through my old lecture notes and I found the food pyramid on one of the pages, and it got me thinking.

You know how some people categorize their books by using different shelves on Goodreads? Favorites shelf, Awful Protagonists shelf, Just Another Love Triangle shelf, WTH Did I Just Read shelf, etc. etc. etc. Well, I don’t have shelves like that on Goodreads, and I don’t classify the books I’ve read based on things like awesome villains, etc. I realized that all this time I’ve been using the book pyramid to sort out my books (excluding the TBR pile, of course).

But what is ‘the book pyramid’?


The Book Pyramid

I came up with this pyramid a while ago. It’s basically a way for me to separate the books I’ve read into 4 different levels based on how that book affected me. Kind of like the food pyramid, but books. I’m pretty sure everyone knows what a food pyramid is, so I’m not going to explain that 😉 .The Book Pyramid with arrows In the food pyramid, the grains group takes the very bottom level of the pyramid because that’s the group you should eat the most while the fats, oils, and sweets are at the very top because that’s the food group you should eat the least. So same principles apply here, but it’s a bit different. So now, I’m going to explain what kind of books fit into each level of The Book Pyramid 🙂

Level 4 The Chocolate Covered Raisins

Instead of being the kind of books I should read the most (like grains), Level 4 is actually reserved for the kind of books that I find very often. I’m not sure ‘common’ is the correct word, but I can’t think of a different word. Level 4 books are the books that don’t affect me in any way, maybe books I don’t like very much. Books in Level 4 are probably books that I read once, and will never reread. Or maybe I didn’t even finish reading them. They offer nothing to the table. These books don’t make me question the universe or people or myself or anything. The characters may not be relatable, the story could be uninteresting, I don’t know. Maybe reading them don’t even make me happy like some other books do.

Level 4 books are at the bottom of the pyramid because I think there are so many books that fit into this category. Or maybe it’s because I’m getting old, and getting more picky with what I read. Who knows? I’m not saying that ALL level 4 books are bad. Take the grains group in the food pyramid, for example. Pasta and rice belong in that group. I love pasta and rice. But I don’t eat pasta and rice just like that. There has to be something else there, like carbonara sauce, or whatever you eat pasta/rice with. You know?

I decided to call Level 4 The Chocolate Covered Raisins. Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against raisins, but I just don’t like them in my chocolate. I usually buy these by mistake, when I fail to read the packaging and end up getting tricked. Just like when I buy books based on their covers without reading the summary, I guess…

Level 3 The Potato Chips

Level 3 books are what I call The Potato Chips. Whenever I buy a bag of potato chips, at least half the bag will be empty. Oh, I’m sorry. I meant, half the bag is filled with air, which is a packing that prevents the chips from getting stale. Well, I don’t care. I want my bag of potato chips to be full. Anyway….

Even though I know half the bag will be empty, I still buy potato chips.Potato chips are not healthy and probably full of chemicals/preservatives, but I still buy them. Because they’re delicious. Let’s just say it’s my guilty pleasure. The same goes for Level 3 books. They probably don’t offer any kind of life advice or some eye-opening revelation, but they make me happy. And they’re fun to read. The Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout comes to mind when I think about Level 3 books. The books in Level 3 are the ones I read when I’m feeling down/upset or just because I want to read something that can cheer me up.

So, even though these books are still ’empty reads’ like Level 4 books, they make me happy and that’s why they’re on Level 3 🙂

Level 2 The Lava Cake

You can always count on a lava cake to be warm and gooey in the center. Chocolate lava cakes are the best!

Level 2 books always have relatable characters. Well, relatable to me. Or they have great characters in general. Usually, when I read Level 2 books, I will think about the characters and compare them to myself. Maybe it’s their personalities or their problems but I can always find something to relate to. I can put myself in their place and/or I will think about what I would do if I was in their shoes. Sometimes I can even learn new things about myself by reading about these characters. Or sometimes I take their actions as advice to deal with my own issues. Of course, I don’t live in a post-apocalyptic world, but fictional problems are usually our normal, everyday problems that are stretched to a bigger scale, right?

And many times, characters in Level 2 books are characters/people who have tough/mean/badass/etc. exteriors but they’re all just misunderstood teddy bears on the inside. Warm and gooey like a lava cake. The first book that comes to mind when I think about Level 2 is Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. It’s actually one of my favorite books, but it still belongs in Level 2 and not Level 1 🙂

Level 1 The Cheesecake

I actually spent a long time thinking about a dessert that is more special than cheesecake, but I couldn’t do it. Cheesecake is my favorite dessert, so it’s the most special dessert for me and that’s why Level 1 is called The Cheesecake.

Remember how the fats group should only be eaten in small quantities? That’s why they have the tiniest spot on the food pyramid. Level 1 books also have the tiniest spot on the Book Pyramid, but not because they should be read the least. It’s because they’re rare. Even though I love cheesecake, I don’t eat it very often. Not because I don’t want to, but because I always want to eat the best cheesecake. Because I don’t want one bad cheesecake to ruin all cheesecakes. And not ever cake shop has good cheesecake. Okay, I’m getting off topic. I should be talking about books, not cheesecake.

Anyway, just like the rare super-delicious cheesecake, Level 1 books are hard to come by. I consider a book a Level 1 book when it can make me question something bigger than myself. Level 1 books can affect they way I think about the world or people, or make me see things in a different way. Maybe they managed to influence they way I think/feel about something. And sometimes, relatable characters are not even necessary in Level 1 books. For example, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. I love that book. But I didn’t really like the main character, I didn’t think he was a very good person. And that’s okay. Because I think that his character is one of the major things that makes The Kite Runner a Level 1 book for me.


So that’s it for my Book Pyramid! I don’t use my book pyramid as a rating system because books from each category can be a 5-star or 1-star book. A book from Level 4 can be a 4/5-star book, but just because I gave it that rating doesn’t mean I would read it again. Same goes for Level 1 books. A cheesecake book can be something I DNF, but that doesn’t mean it didn’t make me question my existence.

I hope you guys didn’t get too bored reading this, I know it’s kinda long :/ . I don’t know if this Book Pyramid makes a lot of sense, but I’d love to hear what you think about it! Do you have a way of categorizing books? Tell me in the comments!

Signature - Glamor Style

 

2 thoughts on “The Book Pyramid. The Bookamid??

Leave a Reply

