The Reading · Top 5 Wednesdays

Top 5 Wednesday: Rainy Day Reads

Top 5 Wednesday Icon   Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) on Goodreads, and every Wednesday, book lovers will share their list of Top 5 books/characters/, etc. depending on the topic of the week through their book blogs, Instagram, Tumblr, etc. This week’s topic is Rainy Day Reads. I assume that means books I read when it’s raining, so here we go.

Fairy Tales

Original fairy tales, retellings, it doesn’t matter. I always feel like there is something about rain that makes me want to read fairy tales. Or maybe it’s because when I was a kid and couldn’t play outside because it was raining, I’d stay indoors and read a bunch of fairy tales.

My Favorite Books (at least at the moment) 

I find it comforting to re-read my favorite books while it’s raining. Especially when I’m drinking a cup of tea or hot cocoa. Even though I’ve read these books multiple times, I still enjoy them. I think the predictability of it is what makes it comforting. There wouldn’t be any surprises that come with reading a new book. Aren’t thunder and lightning surprise enough???

Activity Books (?)

I love these books. Sometimes, when I don’t really want to read, I just flip open a page and start coloring or doodling, and it’s a really great way to relax. Also, I can still have a proper human conversation while coloring, not like the “I can’t hear you, I’m reading, go away” monster I become when I’m reading a book 😀

I guess I’m cheating a little this week. I couldn’t come up with five books, so I decided to list three categories of books. On the bright side, the total number of books from all categories is definitely more than five, so… Mission accomplished! 😀 😀 😀

What’s on your Top 5 list this week?

Signature - Simple Style

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Rainy Day Reads

  1. Where I live it’s almost always raining so every book is a rainy day book 🙂 I too am a big fan of fairytale retellings. There is just something about them and Disney films that make a day brighter.

    Like

  2. I am going to read Splintered soon, so I hope everyone’s word holds up and that I’ll like it too 😀
    Most of your favourite books at the moment, I can totally share as well and then the activity books – those were a really good idea!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

