Recipes · The Food Cooking

The One With the Simple Lunch: Aglio e Olio Style

I was really lazy to cook lunch yesterday. Or to go somewhere to eat. All I wanted to do was stay at home, ‘attempt’ to do my essay on Food Hygiene and overthink about the latest episode of The 100 that broke my heart. Don’t worry, no spoilers. But alas, I was hungry. And sometime in the afternoon, my brother barged into my room and asked me “what are we having for lunch?” So I was forced to get up and rummaged the kitchen to see what’s what. I found some oranges, some pasta, and some chicken breast. Here’s what I did:

 

IMG_8970
Sorry about the image quality. I’m not a food photographer, but I want to be…

I know, I know. Aglio e olio is always spaghetti, but this tricolor fusilli was all I had so don’t sue me. And I also added orange to the original recipe because I love oranges. Hmm… maybe I shouldn’t call this Aglio e olio. Please don’t get mad! Anyway, I liked this recipe, and I thought I’d share it here. It may not be for everyone, but it’s a super simple dish that takes less than half an hour and not a lot of ingredients, so if you want to try… Plus the orange thing is completely optional 😀

Aglio e Olio with an Orange Twist 😉

Ingredients (Yield: 2 pax)

160g    tricolor fusilli (or any other pasta of your choice)

50ml   olive oil

2           garlic cloves (finely chopped or thinly sliced, it’s up to you)

1/2tsp crushed dried chili/chili flakes

1tsp     flat leaf parsley

             salt (to taste)

            orange juice & zest (optional)

2          chicken breast

            salt, white pepper powder and paprika powder (to taste)

Methods:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and boil some water (add a little salt in the water), add the pasta in the water for 11 minutes after it boils (or as long as it says on the packaging)
  2. Pat dry the chicken breast and rub with a little olive oil, salt, pepper, and paprika. Heat a saute pan and saute the chicken over medium-high heat until golden brown (it won’t really look golden brown because of the paprika powder, though), and place in the oven for 10-12 minutes depending on the size.
  3. When the pasta is done, put the garlic and oil in a pan and cook until the garlic has sizzled for a minute, but not colored. This is where I added the orange juice and zest.
  4. Add in the chili, then the pasta. Don’t forget to check the seasoning 😉
  5. Saute for a few seconds, then toss in the parsley.
    If the timing is right, the chicken should be done around the same time, so the food is ready to serve 🙂

Like I said, it’s super simple, and it’s delicious :D. I’m pretty sure most people already know how to make Aglio e Olio, but I thought I’d share it anyway. If you like oranges (like me), you should definitely try adding in the orange. I even added a bit to the chicken 😀

I hope you found this useful, or, at least, interesting enough to read. It’s definitely worth trying if you don’t have a lot of time to cook 😉

Signature - Simple Style

2 thoughts on “The One With the Simple Lunch: Aglio e Olio Style

Leave a Reply

