Book Tags · The Random Things

The Positives of Blogging

Blogging Extravaganza

It’s finally the last day of March, and this will be the last post in the ‘Get Up Offa That Slump: A Blogging Extravaganza’. This blogging extravaganza was created by Rachel of Beauty and the Bookshelf, and even though it’s over, I don’t see any reason why we can’t use the brilliant post ideas for future posts. Thank you, Rachel, for creating this wonderful extravaganza. I’ll be looking forward to more of these events in the future πŸ™‚

Today’s post will be all about the positives of blogging, what makes blogging fun (at least for me) and what makes me continue to post and not say “I’m done with this blog. I quit”.

Here’s the prompt: It’s THE LAST DAY. I hope you’ve enjoyed the Blogging Extravaganza and that it’s helped to give you a gentle shove back into blogging, and that it’s given you some blogging inspiration. For the last post, we’re getting just a wee bit serious. Even if you’re struggling with blogging, you’re still here, and you’re still doing this; there’s a reason why you don’t want to quit blogging, and you know there’s a light at the end of the tunnel. So tell us: Why are you still here? What makes blogging worth it? Why is it so fun and fantastic and you don’t want to let it go? Why do you love it? (And the goods outweigh the few hardships, don’t they?)

I started this blog in January as part of my New Year Resolutions, and the only reason I started it is because I love reading. And random things, but mostly reading ;). I’ve wanted to make a blog since many years ago, but I never did because “what if I have nothing to say?” “what if I’m terrible at it?” and I was worried that no one would want to read what I write. I think that the last one is the one that stopped me from starting a blog in the first place because I think it would hurt if I spend so much time painstakingly writing each post, and no one even bothers to read them.

Now, I realize that it’s not important if people follow me, or like my posts. It’s not important how many people visit my blog each day. Sure, it matters, I’d be lying if I said I don’t care about the stats. Who doesn’t want people to read their blogs and like and comment and follow? BUT, that’s not the main reason why I blog. First and foremost, I created this blog for myself, not for other people.

Writing posts for this blog is a way for me to relax after long hours of classes and assignments. I can post whatever I want, whenever I want. I don’t have a schedule for posts; I don’t really draft and schedule any posts either. I write whenever I have time and whenever inspiration strikes. And because of that, I don’t feel pressured to write blog posts. I really have a lot of fun editing and changing up things on my blog. Not to mention Bookstagram. Taking photos of books is a great way for me to relax, especially on the weekends. So that’s one of the positives of blogging for me; a relaxing pastime OR a way to procrastinate doing my assignments πŸ˜€

It’s not just writing my own blog posts that make blogging great, though. It’s reading blog posts from all the other bloggers that I follow. I have added so many books to my TBR pile by reading other bloggers’ Teaser Tuesdays, Top 5 Wednesdays, book reviews and other bookish posts. And it’s not just books, either. I’ve learned a plethora of other things from bloggers like recipes, for examples. Being a culinary student, I love looking at recipes from different countries and trying them out myself. I also get a lot of ideas/inspiration for writing by reading your blogs! I’ve read so many interesting discussion posts that inspired me to write a post on a similar topic. Oh, and writing! I’ve done so much more writing on this blog than I would have without it. I’m hoping to keep writing more, so I can improve :D.

Another positive thing about blogging is I can be myself on my blog. I don’t have to worry about being judged by the way I look or what I wear. My blog is my personal space where I can say what I want to say, fangirl about my favorite books and pretty much be as weird as I want because NO ONE is weird on the internet. Or is the phrase ‘EVERYONE is weird on the internet’? I’m not sure. Either way, this blog is my ‘weird zone’. If you don’t like it, don’t read it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Now what kind of ‘The Positives of Blogging’ post would this be if I didn’t mention to great people I’ve ‘met’? I know I haven’t really ‘met’ the super nice bloggers who liked and commented on my blog, but I like to think that we’re friends, and I would love to get to know them more πŸ™‚ ! The book blogging community is amazing. The people are wonderful and best of all; they/you’re like me! I don’t have ANY friends in real life who loves reading as much as I do, so it’s really difficult when I want to fangirl about my favorite books, or if I need someone to cry with me when a character dies. Seriously, the struggle is real. I never stop hoping that one day I will have a ‘real life’ friend that’s bookish like me, but until then, and even after that happens, book bloggers will forever be awesome!

I guess that’s it for today’s post. I’m sure that there are so many other positives that come with blogging, but if I write any more, then this post will be super long. Again, thank you, Rachel, for creating this awesome blogging extravaganza. Even though I didn’t do allΒ the topics, I managed to do at least half (I think), and I really enjoyed doing them. What do you think are the positives of blogging? Let me know! πŸ˜€

Signature - Simple Style

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Positives of Blogging

Leave a Reply

