Book Tags · The Reading

My Intimidating TBR Pile Tag

I’ve seen a lot of TBR tags (and also other tags) around the blogosphere lately, and even though I haven’t been tagged, I decided to do the “My Intimidating TBR Pile Tag” πŸ™‚ Β I mean, why not? It’s a nice, windy Sunday afternoon, I just made some chocolate chip cookies, and I’m trying to procrastinate studying for my nutrition exam, so this is the best time to do a tag :D. This tag was created by Lindsey Rey on YouTube, and you can check out her videos!

A book I’ve been unable to finish

20454074

I know, I know, this book has been on my ‘currently reading’ shelf since January and I STILL haven’t finished reading it yet. It’s not my fault! The Marshmallow test is non-fiction, and as interesting as it is, it just doesn’t have the power to keep me reading more than a few pages at a time. How could it? When I have so many other books to read like Glass Sword, Six of Crows, etc.

 

A book I haven’t read because I haven’t had the time.9754815

Actually, this is a lie. I do have time, but since I don’t have a LOT of time to read, I prefer to read other books instead. I mentioned before that I’m not really a fan of contemporaries, so Anna will have to wait some more πŸ˜‰

 

A book I haven’t read because it’s a sequel

16248068I read The Selection a few years ago, and I didn’t really like it enough to want to read the sequel when it was released. Maybe when I have a semester break, I’ll try to read The Elite, but I probably won’t.

 

A book I haven’t read because it’s brand newΒ 

Lady Midnight! I just bought this book a few days ago, so I’m25494343Β still admiring the way it looks on my shelf. I’m not really in a rush to read this book, though. Goodreads says the sequel will be published in 2017, and that is SO far away. I don’t like waiting too long to read the next books in a series because I might forget what happened in the first one. Also, I have plenty of other books to occupy my time until then πŸ™‚

 

A book I haven’t read because I’ve read another book by the author and didn’t really like it

6442769

Okay, so it’s not that I hated The Fault in Our Stars, I just didn’t have a good reading experience with it. It was okay, but it’s not something I’d re-read. TFIOS also made me reluctant to read John Green’s other books. It’s nothing against John Green, I know a lot of people who LOVE his books, but I don’t think they’re the right books for me 😦

 

A book I haven’t read because I’m just not in the mood for it

I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t read a lot of classics. I have7190 a few of them on my bookshelf, but I haven’t even read half of them. I used to read a lot of Shakespeare, but lately, I’m just not in the mood to read these books. Maybe in the future, when I’m sitting at home on the weekend, resting after a whole week of long shifts in the kitchen, I’ll read this book. But for now, I’ll stick to reading the fantasy and dystopian books that I love πŸ˜€

 

A book I haven’t read because it’s humongousΒ 

7664041Β I’ve read the first three books in the series, and I really liked them. Then, I went to the bookstore the day after the fourth book was released, and I saw INHERITANCE. The bookstore I went to only had the oversized edition of the book. It was really, REALLY big. I bought it, of course, but I still haven’t read it until now. I will try to read it someday, though. I want to know what happens at the end πŸ™‚

 

A book I haven’t read because it was a cover buy and then I read the reviews…

I don’t think I have a book that fits into this category on my TBR list. Whenever I buy a book, cover buy or otherwise, I always read the same number of good and bad reviews (spoiler free, of course πŸ˜‰ ), or sometimes I don’t read any reviews at all, so I’m not influenced by anything (much) before I start reading. Disclaimer: this does not apply to overhyped books that everyone seems to love, but I end up not liking

The most intimidating book in my TBR pile is…6421982

The entire A Song of Ice and Fire series. Yep. I haven’t read it, and I’m not planning on reading it anytime soon. All the books in this series are massive, and we don’t even know when the next book will be released. Also, people DIE ALL THE TIME. I don’t think my heart can take it. But, this series IS on my TBR list, so I will read it eventually. Maybe after the TV show ends?

 

 

 

Okays, I’m done! I guess now I have to go back to studying Food Nutrition… Sigh, all those nutrients I have to remember… It won’t be a lot of fun, but I guess I have to do it. Wish me luck!

Signature - Simple Style

6 thoughts on “My Intimidating TBR Pile Tag

  1. I haven’t had a chance to read Lady Midnight either. I agree- it’s not worth rushing to read something when you’ve got to wait ages for the next one either. And I haven’t bothered with Paper Towns either- and probably never will- cos I also wasn’t a fan of TFIOS. I tried waiting for Alaska too and didn’t like that either- in fact I probably liked it less. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m currently reading (well listening) to the Inheritance Cycle. The audiobooks are soooo long but I think the narrator makes them way more fun to read! I’m currently on Brisingr and I’ve been listening to them when I get a few minutes since January soooo clearly they’re very long!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I find it’s sort of an… acquired skill, I guess? Like with anything, you get better with practice. My mind used to wander sooo much when I started, and I would rewind a lot. But I’ve done it enough where now I’m much better at staying tuned in!

        Like

Leave a Reply

