Book Tags · The Reading

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Blogging Extravaganza

Created by Rachel from Beauty and The Bookshelf, Get Up Offa That Slump: A Blogging Extravaganza is a kind of blogging challenge. The goal is to post something, to get us back into (or start) blogging and to remind us how much fun blogging can be. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details here.

For today’s festivities, we can either do “If I Were a Fictional Character” OR we can do a book tag. I decided to do the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag created by The Book Archer on YouTube. Ready, or not? Here I go!

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

1.A popular book or series that you didn’t like

I’m really sorry to fans of these books, but I really didn’t enjoy them. I actually read all the books in The Mortal Instruments series and while I liked the story, I didn’t like the characters very much (yes, Clary and Jace). My friend forced me to read Twilight, and as I expected, I didn’t like it. But on the bright side, Twilight is the book that made me start reading obsessively, because I wanted to discover more books that are better than Twilight :D.

 

2.A popular book or series that everyone seems to hate but you love

6068551

I’m actually not sure if this is considered a popular book, or if everyone hates it, but I’ve seen quite a few bad reviews on Goodreads. I read this book a few years ago, and I remember liking it so I guess it qualifies. I don’t know if I’ll still like it if I read it again, but for now, I’m going to use this book for this tag 🙂

 

3.A love triangle where  the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like

16034235.jpg

I read the first 2 books in this series and also The Assassin’s Blade, and I have to say I will forever be on Team Sam. And since that probably will never happen, I changed my allegiance to Team Dorian. I don’t care what anyone else says.

 

4. A popular book genre you hardly reach for

I hardly ever read contemporaries, and after reading The Fault in Our Stars I probably will stay away from this genre for a while. I prefer reading about magical places, dystopian societies, enchanted objects, etc. Reading about ‘real life’ doesn’t appeal to me. Why should I read about something I see every day when i could be reading about Narnia? Or Oz?

 

5.A popular or beloved character you don’t like

Ootp076.jpg

I’m sorry, world! I know pretty much everyone loves Professor Snape, but I don’t like him very much. I get that he has a sad backstory, and that he’s actually a good person, but he always acts like such a jerk. Don’t hate me 😦

 

6. A popular author that you can’t get into

I guess this would have to be John Green. I didn’t really like TFIOS, and even though I’ve heard good things about his other books, I’m very reluctant to read them. Also, I’m not into contemporaries, so it’s probably not you, John Green, it’s me 😉

 

7.A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing (examples: lost princess, corrupt ruler, love triangles)

I generally don’t mind reading book tropes, as long as it’s done well. I’m even okay with love triangles, most of the time. But there is one trope that bothers me a lot because I’ve seen it waaay too many times, and it is “I can’t fall in love with you, it’s forbidden/ I’m only supposed to be your protector/guide/etc, I’m dangerous”. I’m so done. The moment I see hints leading up to this trope, I can already guess that the characters are going to fall in love anyway and end up causing a war of some sort just so they can be together. I get it. Let’s move on.

 

8.A popular series that you have no interest in reading

395871.jpg

I read the first few books in the Vampire Diaries series, and I had to stop. I don’t think I’ll be continuing this series in the future. I also have no interest in reading series like Pretty Little Liars and House of Night.

9.The saying goes “the book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or TV show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

the-100-53772df520798

I read the books after I watched the TV series and I have to say I was very disappointed. I really love the TV show so I expected to love the book even more, because books > movies. But I’m sad to say that The 100 book series is not better than it’s TV adaptation ( 😦 ), at least in my opinion.

So this is it for today’s Blogger Extravaganza! It took me so long to do this post because my internet connection sucks. Hopefully next time it will be better 🙂

Signature - Simple Style

8 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Hallé Gold
      1. Me too! I made the mistake of going on Twitter before watching the latest episode and I saw so many spoilers… They really do need to stop killing off great characters 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

