Book Reviews · The Reading

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

13104080 Title: Unravel Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Published: February 5th, 2013 by Harper Collins

Goodreads

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery
Summary:

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

The Review:

I wish I could sum up this entire review just by saying ‘I love Warner’, but I can’t. There are many other things about Unravel Me that I love.

So Unravel Me picked up where Shatter Me left off, with Juliette, Adam and James staying at Omega Point. Juliette is still relying on Adam way too much, not interacting with the other residents of Omega Point. I guess she’s so used to being isolated that she still isolates herself even when she doesn’t have to. She’s still waiting for someone to call her a monster or a murderer. I do think that she is a bit annoying sometimes, but I guess it’s understandable.

Juliette is always stuck in a pool of self-loathing. She’s so caught up in her own world and she doesn’t realize there are bigger things happening in the world. I don’t think she’s trying to be like that, but I guess it’s difficult to change your beliefs, what you think about yourself just because a bunch of people around you says that they are like you (Castle and everyone else at Omega Point who have powers). “I’m always waiting for him and Adam and Castle to realize that being kind to me is a mistake, that it’ll end badly, that I’m not worth it, that I’m nothing more than a tool, a weapon, a closet murderer”.

Thank goodness for Kenji though. He is definitely my favorite character. Other than Warner, of course :). Kenji never minces words. He tells Juliette what he thinks and he does it with good intentions. He doesn’t coddle her or treat her like she’s fragile. Kenji helps her more than Adam ever did by telling her things that she may not want to hear, but needed to. I think all of us need a Kenji in our lives.

When I was reading Shatter Me, I knew there was more to Warner’s character. Then Destroy Me happened, and this book happened and I have never been happier to be right. Warner is awesome. He and Juliette have so much in common and he can understand her better than Adam ever could. And I should stop talking about Warner or I might never stop. I do feel sorry for Adam though. He just can’t catch a break. So many bad things keep happening to him, so I can’t really blame him for trying so hard to make it work with Juliette.

Towards the end of the book, Juliette became a much better character. She involved herself more and she discovered that she can be okay by herself, that she doesn’t need Adam to help her all the time. “I’ve come to realize that being away from him has forced me to rely on myself. To allow myself to be scared and to find my own way through it”, “I feel stronger since putting space between us”. I love how this book focuses more on Juliette as a person trying to discover who she is rather than Juliette trying to save the world. There are a few chapters in this book where nothing really happened at all and instead focused on how Juliette was feeling at a certain point in her life. I think it helped to understand her character a lot better.

The writing is still beautiful and I loved reading every single page. There are a lot fewer strikethroughs in this book compared to the previous book and I think it shows how Juliette isn’t as weak and afraid of her own thoughts as before.

So to sum up, I love this book and I will read it again. I hope they will make the TV series and make it good because I will definitely be watching.

“Mass chaos is in my future.

And I’m leaving my gloves behind.”

5 Stars

Signature - Simple Style

4 thoughts on “Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

