Fridays are for Food · The Food Cooking

Fridays Are For Food : Chocolate/Cocoa Edition

So other than reading, I also love to cook. More specifically, baking. That’s why I decided to do Fridays are for Food. I thought that I would share my cooking adventures with the residents of planet Earth (because it’s the internet. So who knows who’s reading this right now). There are a few reasons why I chose Friday though, and not just because both Friday and food start with F. Here are some of my reasons:-

  1. Because I have class until really late every day except Fridays (I only have class from 3-6 p.m.) and Mondays (8-10 a.m.), but Mondays don’t count because no one wants to do anything on Mondays.
  2. Because I’m done with practical classes for the week so I have all the photos of the food we made.
  3. Because tomorrow is Saturday.
  4. Because I can

Okay, now that that’s out of the way, let me begin.

This week is my first week of the third semester of university, and I didn’t know what to expect for my Food Commodities class, so I was a little nervous. The main idea of this class is to make a three-course meal that includes ‘the ingredient of the week’. For our first class, it was cocoa/chocolate. The other ingredients available were chicken, eggplants, pumpkin, carrots, capsicums, zucchini, radish, eggs, onions, garlic, basil, thyme, apples, oranges, cream cheese, cream, milk, sugar and butter.

After lots and lots of talking and debating and discussing, we decided to make a cocoa-crusted quiche with a simple salad as appetizer, chicken supreme stuffed with cheese and cocoa served with pumpkin puree, basil and almond pesto, and roasted veggies as the main course, and white chocolate brownies and cocoa coated cream cheese truffle served with a chocolate tuile and orange sauce as the dessert.

Now before you say anything, let me just say that everyone, EVERY SINGLE PERSON, in the kitchen was still on holiday mode. We just came back from a 1 1/2 month vacation and we should not be expected to create a masterpiece. Also, I think we only had around an hour to do everything, so this is the result.

I thought that the dishes were all pretty good. The chicken-cocoa combination was a bit weird at first, but it sort of worked, in a strange kind of way. Of course, not everyone is going to like it because to be honest, I think chocolate, excuse me, cocoa, and chicken is weird. No matter what.

Next week, we’re supposed to work with tofu/bean curd. I don’t like tofu/bean curd. So if anyone has any bright ideas about what to make with tofu/bean curd, please don’t hesitate to let me know.

So I guess this wraps up my first Fridays Are For Food post. Can’t wait to see what tofu thing we come up with next week! (note: sarcasm).

P.S.: I know the pictures aren’t that great. My phone’s camera isn’t that great either.

Signature - Simple Style

4 thoughts on “Fridays Are For Food : Chocolate/Cocoa Edition

  1. This looks so good! Chicken and cocoa sounds like it’s one of those combinations where they taste good separately but then together… not so good. But I think you guys made it work! And now I’m hungry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

