Book Reviews · The Reading

Newspaper Blackout by Austin Kleon

6612726

Title: Newspaper Blackout
Author: Austin Kleon
Published: April 13th, 2010 by Harper Perennial

Goodreads

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Summary:

Poet and cartoonist Austin Kleon has discovered a new way to read between the lines. Armed with a daily newspaper and a permanent marker, he constructs through deconstruction–eliminating the words he doesn’t need to create a new art form: Newspaper Blackout poetry.

Highly original, Kleon’s verse ranges from provocative to lighthearted, and from moving to hysterically funny, and undoubtedly entertaining. The latest creations in a long history of “found art,” “Newspaper Blackout” will challenge you to find new meaning in the familiar and inspiration from the mundane.

“Newspaper Blackout” contains original poems by Austin Kleon, as well as submissions from readers of Kleon’s popular online blog and a handy appendix on how to create your own blackout poetry.

The Review:

I have a whole bag full of Sharpies of every color, and I use them to doodle all over my notebooks, sketchbooks, my hands, and pretty much anything I can doodle on. But I have never used my Sharpies to blackout a poem before, and after reading this book, I know I’m going to try. Newspaper Blackout is really fun to read, and I think everyone should give it a try because you don’t have to love poetry to enjoy this book. The poems are short, witty and while I don’t love ALL of them, I find a lot of them quite relatable.

What I like most about this book is actually not the poems, but the technique the author used to make them. It’s basically recycling, right? When I recycle old newspapers, I make picture frames or papiermâché. When Austin Kleon recycles old newspapers, he makes fun poems. Even though this method has been around since the 1760s, this book is the first one I’ve ever read. So now, I’m going to look for more, and maybe read this one again 🙂

4 Stars

Signature - Simple Style

 

 

One thought on “Newspaper Blackout by Austin Kleon

Leave a Reply

