The Random Things

Keeping Up With the Resolutions

Before I start, I need to mention that I do not watch Keeping Up with the Kardashians. I don’t.

So I haven’t been sleeping in my bedroom for about a month now, ever since I bought my sofa bed (which is super comfy and explains why I sleep on it). I’m about fifteen steps away from the fridge, the open curtains provide perfect natural lighting during the day and pretty lights at night, my somewhat dying orchid in the corner of the room for some semblance of other life forms, the TV is directly in front of me, and my internet connection is awesome. All in all, my living room is the most strategic location for, well, living.

On New Year’s Eve, I was sitting, or more precisely half-sitting, half lying down on my pink sofa bed, watching Little House on the Prairie (the scene where Mrs. Oleson says Zaldamo instead of Almanzo always makes me laugh), and after a while the fireworks started. Then I realized, it’s a new year! Well, obviously it is, but the fireworks made it official. So I started thinking, what should be my New Year resolutions this year?

I came up with a short, simple list, and of course, losing weight is at the top. Actually, losing weight has been on my list for a few years already, and even though I accomplished this goal, at the end of each year I was back to where I started. I blame birthday parties, reunions, hanging out with friends, and family visits. Also, funerals. It’s not my fault they provide food. Anyway, losing weight has an honorary spot on my New Year’s Resolutions List every year.

Next, I decided to start a blog (this one), so I can ramble on and on about the things that I think about, that my friends might not fully understand. For example, my love for reading and talking about my current favorite book non-stop. Of course, I won’t just talk about books since I love so many other things, like food and cooking, but you get the idea. When I think back, I’ve always wanted to start a blog, but I was always hesitant since I didn’t think anyone would read it, or maybe I wouldn’t know what to post. Now, all I’m thinking is, I’m doing this for myself, not for anyone else.

Since starting university last May, I’ve been swamped with assignments, long hours in practical classes (I’m taking the culinary program so practical classes take a lot of time. And energy.), and I haven’t had the time to do other things that I love. Like reading and writing (yes, I used to do that. Mostly short stories though). So I thought I should set aside some time each week for myself. No assignments, no dishes to wash, no meeting up with people I don’t want to team up with for group projects. Time that I can use to read, write and enjoy my young life. And that is the story of how this blog is born.

Of course, there are other things on my list of New Year’s Resolutions, but they’re not interesting enough to elaborate.

Anyway, if you’re reading this, it means that you read this post from the beginning (or maybe you skipped to the bottom to see how it ends. It’s okay. I do that too, sometimes), and found it interesting enough to keep reading. I don’t promise to always post super amazing, interesting things, because I’m just a normal university student, who is a bit weird, somewhat annoying, and maybe a little fascinating (?), but maybe that’s okay. Because this is my blog. So I can do what I want.

 

With love,

Maddie.

4 thoughts on “Keeping Up With the Resolutions

  1. Welcome, to the world of blogging, fellow book lover! I remember feeling the same way as you when I first started my blog (back in May), afraid I wouldn’t have anything good to say, that people wouldn’t like it… Now I know that I love my blog, I love posting reviews, and I love the people I’ve met because of it. Just like I’ve met you! Your blog is really pretty, I love the background!

    Good luck on everything, and your resolutions 🙂 (Don’t worry, I don’t watch Kardashians either)

    Sinead @ Less Reality More Books
    http://lessrealitymorebooks.blogspot.ie/

    Like

  2. Welcome to the blogging world, fellow book lover! 🙂 I remember feeling the exact same way as you when I started my blog (back in May) – that people wouldn’t like what I have to say or get bored. Now I discovered that they people do enjoy my blog, but more than that, it doesn’t matter. I started my blog for me, and I love it because of that. Plus, I’ve met so many amazing bookworms because of setting up my blog, great people who understand my obsession with book characters and OTP’s. People like you! I hope you keep blogging because it’s what you love, because after this one post you seem to be a really funny and interesting person. Plus your blog is really pretty 🙂

    Sinead @ Less Reality More Books
    http://lessrealitymorebooks.blogspot.ie/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your nice comments! I was hoping to find some booklovers when I started this blog, but I guess you found me, haha 🙂
      Also, your blog is really pretty too 🙂

      Maddie

      Like

Leave a Reply

